March 12, 2015

Soundgarden Releases ‘Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path” on 6 LP Vinyl

Soundgarden will release highly acclaimed rarities collection, Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path on 6-LP vinyl on May 19 in the US (dates in other countries may vary).

Hard on the heels of the 20th anniversary deluxe re-release of Superunknown early last year, the new vinyl package, first released as a 3-CD collection and as a 14-track single CD last November, will feature the three album thematic collection on six LPs with three separate jackets, each sporting its own unique art and housed in a slipcase wrapped in foil paper designed by Josh Graham.

You can pre-order a copy of the collection starting today at SOUNDGARDENWORLD HERE or at AMAZON HERE.

The collection was curated and hand-selected by guitarist Kim Thayil. Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path includes rarities that have appeared as B-sides, album bonus tracks, EPs, soundtracks, compilations and live recordings – a must for any fan of the band.

Echo Of Miles collects and curates all these “scattered tracks across the path”, offering a different slant on the 26-year history and evolution of one of alternative rock’s finest bands.

LP 1 & 2, dubbed “ORIGINALS,” is filled with Soundgarden-written songs, mainly B-sides along with some soundtrack and compilation selections in addition to two unreleased songs on vinyl which go back as far as “Sub Pop Rock City,” originally included as part of the 1988 compilation, Sub Pop 200. The two unreleased tracks are “Kristi,” a 1996 outtake from the Down on the Upside sessions which is reportedly drummer Matt Cameron’s favorite Soundgarden song, and “Storm,” a brand-new track recorded in early 2014.

LP 3 & 4, “COVERS,” offers a stellar showcase of songs from bands who Soundgarden love and admire, from classic rockers The Beatles, the Rolling Stones, The Doors, Black Sabbath, Jimi Hendrix and Sly & the Family Stone to punk pioneers The Stooges, the Ramones, Fear and DEVO. Showing their sense of humor, Soundgarden also cover songs by Spinal Tap and Cheech & Chong. The two unreleased tracks include the Beatles’ “Everybody’s Got Something to Hide…” and the Sly Stone track “Thank You…”, both of which were originally recorded for a BBC Radio 1 John Peel session in 1989.

LP 5 & 6, “ODDITIES,” offer a wide-ranging combination of instrumentals, remixes and demos. The unreleased tracks on vinyl include “Twin Tower,” penned by Matt Cameron, which was originally recorded at Seattle’s London Bridge studio in December 1988 during the sessions for Louder Than Love. “Night Surf” is an instrumental performed by bassist Ben Shepherd which the band used to open their 1994 tour in conjunction with an introductory film which screened before they took the stage. Steve Fisk’s new remix of “The Telephantasm (Resurrection Remix),” a song originally released for 2011 Record Store Day, has also never been available on vinyl before.

LP 1 – Originals

Side A

Sub Pop Rock City

Toy Box


Fresh Deadly Roses

Side B

HIV Baby

Cold Bitch

Show Me

She’s A Politician

Birth Ritual


LP 2 – Originals

Side C

She Likes Surprises

Kyle Petty, Son of Richard

Exit Stonehenge

Blind Dogs

Bleed Together

Side D

Black Rain

Live To Rise




LP 3 – Covers

Side E

Swallow My Pride

Smokestack Lightnin’

Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey (John Peel BBC Sessions)

Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) (John Peel BBC Sessions)

Side F

Come Together

Stray Cat Blues

Into The Void (Sealth)


LP 4 – Covers

Side G

Girl U Want

Touch Me

Can You See Me? (Friday Rock Show BBC Sessions)

Homicidal Suicidal (Friday Rock Show BBC Sessions)

I Can’t Give You Anything (Friday Rock Show BBC Sessions)

I Don’t Care About You (Friday Rock Show BBC Sessions)

Side H

Waiting For The Sun (Live)

Search And Destroy (Live)

Big Bottom (Live)

Earache My Eye (Live)


LP 5 – Oddities

Side I

Twin Tower

Jerry Garcia’s Finger


Night Surf

A Splice Of Space Jam

Side J

The Telephantasm

Black Days III



LP 6 – Oddities

Side K

Fopp (Fucked Up Heavy Dub Mix)

Big Dumb Sex (Dub Version)

Spoonman (Steve Fisk Remix)

Side L

Rhinosaur (The Straw That Broke The Rhino’s Back Remix)

Dusty (Moby Remix)

The Telephantasm (Steve Fisk 2014 Remix)

One Minute Of Silence