October 22, 2013

New Chris Cornell song ‘Misery Chain’ Featured On ‘12 Years A Slave’ Soundtrack Album

Chris Cornell's new song 'Misery Chain', recorded with Joy Williams, is included on the soundtrack album 'Music from and Inspired By 12 Years a Slave', available to pre-order now at: http://smarturl.it/12YearsASlaveAmazon.

“I was moved by this film and the story in a way that transcends any film experience I have ever had.  I was inspired to write a hundred different songs, but finally landed on one based on what I believe is an extremely important message I took from this man’s journey. Compassion, basic human rights and love must be our priorities above race, religion or commerce. Every generation needs a reminder of that simple idea.” – Chris Cornell

The soundtrack will be released digitally on November 5th, 2013 with the physical release set for November 19th, 2013. It was curated by 9 time GRAMMY®  Award winner John Legend and features a score by legendary film composer Hans Zimmer.



1 Tim Fain – Devil’s Dream

2 John Legend – Roll Jordan Roll

3 Gary Clark Jr. – Freight Train

4 Tim Fain and Caitlin Sullivan – Yarney’s Waltz

5 Alabama Shakes – Driva Man

6 David Hughey and Roosevelt Credit – My Lord Sunshine (Sunrise)

7 John Legend feat. Fink – Move

8 Hans Zimmer – Washington

9 Gary Clark Jr. – (In The Evening) When The Sun Goes Down

10 Alicia Keys – Queen Of The Field (Patsey’s Song)

11 Hans Zimmer – Solomon

12 Laura Mvula – Little Girl Blue

13 Chris Cornell feat. Joy Williams – Misery Chain

14 Topsy Chapman feat. Chiwetel Ejiofor and Cast – Roll Jordan Roll

15 Tim Fain – Money Musk

16 Cody Chesnutt – What Does Freedom Mean (To A Free Man)

For more info, visit: