December 15, 2014

Chris Cornell To Perform With Mike McCready’s Mad Season And The Seattle Symphony.

Chris will perform with Mad Season featuring Mike McCready (Pearl Jam) and Duff McKagan plus the Seattle Symphony orchestra at a special 'Sonic Evolution' concert at Seattle's Benaroya Hall on January 30.

Tickets start at $50 and may be purchased at, by calling the Seattle Symphony Ticket Office at (206) 215-4747, or by visiting the Ticket Office in Benaroya Hall, located on the corner of Union Street and Third Avenue. or via the Seattle Symphony’s iPhone and Android apps.

Now in its fourth year, Sonic Evolution creates a bridge between the Symphony and Seattle’s storied reputation as launching pad for some of the most creative musicians on the popular music scene. In celebration of the past, present and future of our city’s musical legacy, Ludovic Morlot, and the Seattle Symphony commissioned three artists to write orchestral world premieres inspired by bands that launched from, or are related to, Seattle.

The first half of the program features three world premieres and Seattle Symphony commissions and co-commissions. French composer Yann Robin’s Ashes, a piece inspired by the iconic American rock band Nirvana, which rose to fame in Seattle in the late 1980s, will begin the program. It is followed by Beyond Much Difference by Angelique Poteat, inspired by another legendary Seattle-based rock band of the 1990s, Pearl Jam.  Poteat participated in the Seattle Symphony Young Composers Workshop from 2002 to 2004, and has since become one of the most promising young composers for new music. The Symphony commissioned Poteat to write a chamber piece, titled Much Difference, for its May 5, 2014 concert at (Le) Poisson Rouge in New York City. Beyond Much Difference is an orchestral arrangement and expansion of the earlier chamber work.

The first half of the program concludes with Waking the Horizon, a piece conceived by Pearl Jam Lead Guitarist Mike McCready (arranged by Scott Teske). Joining Ludovic Morlot, the Symphony, and members of Vocalpoint! Seattle on stage, McCready will perform during the piece.  Ludovic commented during a recent score reading with McCready: “With this collaboraton we are both coming out of our normal comfort zones. This is an incredible opportunity to learn from one another and give ourselves a chance to grow as artists.”

Mike McCready returns after intermission with American rock supergroup Mad Season, including original drummer Barrett Martin. The star-studded line up will also include iconic Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell and Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan. Ludovic Morlot will lead guest musicians and the Seattle Symphony in a debut performance of orchestral and solo arrangements of original Mad Season works. See below for more details.

Concert Details

Friday, January 30, 2015, at 8 p.m.


Special Performances

Ludovic Morlot, conductor

Mike McCready, special guest

Mad Season

Chris Cornell, vocals

Mike McCready, guitar

Duff McKagan, bass guitar

Barrett Martin, drums

Members of Vocalpoint! Seattle

Seattle Symphony 




Yann Robin                                        Ashes (World Premiere)                                                                

Angelique Poteat                            Beyond Much Difference (World Premiere)

MIKE MCCREADY/arr. Scott Teske        Waking the Horizon (World Premiere)                             

MAD SEASON/arr. Scott Teske             “River of Deceit”

MAD SEASON/arr. Scott Teske             “I Don’t Know Anything”

MAD SEASON/arr. Scott Teske             “Long Gone Day”

Yann Robin’s Ashesis co-commissioned by the Seattle Symphony and the Lille National Orchestra.

Angelique Poteat’s Beyond Much Differenceis generously underwritten by the Brian and Lynn Grant Family.

Presenting Sponsor: CTI BioPharma Corp.